The Bad Boy, Cupid, and Me

Another book Jane and I both read. I stumbled upon this book when I signed up for wattpad to read novellas for The Syrena Legacy series. Wattpad makes you select three books, I think, to add to your book shelf before moving on (which is kind of annoying but oh well). The cover was pretty cool – the color scheme at least, the guy kinda looks like a fuckboy – and since it was online, I would just read a bit at a time whenever I wasn’t doing anything else. Anyways, it was much better than both Jane and I expected so without further ado

Book Stats:

  • The Bad Boy, Cupid and Me
  • Hasti Williams
  • Wattpad
  • May 15th 2013
  • Kelvin: 4 Stars
  • Jane: 3 Stars

Kelvin’s Review

Regardless of the fact that it’s a wattpad book, The Bad Boy, Cupid, and Me was incredibly cute and fun to read and surprisingly well written. I don’t mean this in an offensive way towards online published books, just that sometimes without an editor reading over the work, large mistakes can go unnoticed. At first I was bothered by the fact that each chapter ended in some sort of cliffhanger to keep readers that were reading the book as it was uploaded interested in the next chapter, typical of wattpad/fanfiction stories, but later on that stopped and I found myself getting into the book.

Actually, the book just kind of improved chapter by chapter: plot holes disappeared, nonrealistic events stopped occurring, stuff like that. What’s more impressive is that the author was 16 when she wrote it! No way I could write that well… And writing as a 16 year old, the voice of all the characters sounded like real teenagers which really helped the tone of the book because, well, they are teenagers.

On the other hand though, a lot of the events fell way too conveniently into place for the characters, like Chloe’s parents being away for over a month. I also felt like the characters all got too much autonomy from their parents. Even though Chloe and Allie had curfews, the way that everyone basically has full run of the world without any supervision or questioning from parents made them seem more like college students or adults than high schoolers.

Besides those slight things though, the best parts of this book were all of the funny lines of dialogue or thoughts. There are too many to list out here (we’d be here forever) but here are my absolute favorite.

“I guess it’s just you and me until mom and dad get home.” About two minutes later, Oscar (Chloe’s dog) went through the doggie door. “Okay; I guess it’s just me then.”

“Can you please put a shirt on?” “Why is my six pack bothering you?” “No” “Is it distracting you?” silence. He sighed, “it’s tough being such a sex symbol”

“Don’t  look so disappointed … I mean I’m sure you’re a nice kid once we get over how much you belong in a mental institution… but really, I’m not interested in you like that”

You’re  looking at me like a fat kid looks at cake

“Bella’s having puppies!” I cried excitedly jumping in joy. Reece, however, didn’t seem to share a mutual feeling. “Really? wow I was expecting her to pop our baby crocodiles”

I whipped my head back so fast I almost cracked it. I wonder how Willow Smith was capable of doing that so many times in her music video without having to resort to some sort of neck surgery

See funny right? Really just a refreshing read and if you’re looking into reading it as well, it’ll go by in a snap!

Jane’s Review

Typical for a Wattpad Story plotwise, but surprisingly decent and engaging.

Yes, there were many cliches and it really annoyed me how Chloe was portrayed as a weak female lead (“You’re so cute when you’re angry”– I lost count of how many times this statement occurred). But the characters were lovable and the story flowed nicely considering chapters were released in separate installments.

An enjoyable, light read. And honestly way better than many of the other things I’ve read on Wattpad.

Leave a comment